My Profile   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Corporate Partner News

51 U.S. Senators support Internet Tax Freedom (Do yours?)

Wednesday, August 19, 2015  
Share |

  

http://www.mywireless.org/2015/08/51-u-s-senators-support-internet-tax-freedom/

 

51 U.S. Senators support Internet Tax Freedom (Do yours?)


Rob Shrum


Earlier this summer, without a single dissenting vote, the U.S. House of Representatives passed the Permanent Internet Tax Freedom Act (H.R. 235) to permanently extend the ban on Internet access taxes that is set to expire on October 1st of this year. The focus is now on the Senate where the companion legislation, known as the ‘Internet Tax Freedom Forever Act’ (S.431), is being considered with less than two months to go before time runs out.

The ban on Internet access taxes was originally put in place in 1998 and incrementally extended by Congress over the years to foster and encourage the continued expansion of Internet, which is now a critical gateway to education, healthcare, jobs and entrepreneurial opportunities.

Internet access allows Americans from all walks of life to equally participate and compete in today’s global economy.  Unfortunately, if the Internet access tax ban expires, the high state and local taxes that are already applied to wireless service could be expanded to include Internet access, increasing the cost of service. This despite the fact that the FCC National Broadband Plan says that cost is the largest barrier to consumer broadband adoption.

Luckily, the ‘Internet Tax Freedom Forever Act’ has the broad support over half of the Senate, with Senate Commerce Committee Chairman John Thune (R-SD) sponsoring the bill, along with 50 other bipartisan cosponsors. However, more support is needed to ensure that the bill passes.

The Senators that are NOT currently supporting the Internet Tax Freedom Forever Act are listed below, along with their Facebook pages and Twitter handles. Take a minute to tell each of them on Facebook and Twitter to support the ‘Internet Tax Freedom Forever Act’ today, become a cosponsor, and pass this much needed legislation to ensure that the Internet remains accessible for all and unhindered by discriminatory taxes!

U.S. SenatorsNOTcurrently supporting the Internet Tax Freedom Forever Act (S. 431)
Senator State Facebook Twitter
Jeff Sessions [R] Alabama facebook.com/jeffsessions @SenatorSessions
Richard Shelby [R] Alabama facebook.com/RichardShelby @SenShelby
Barbara Boxer [D] California facebook.com/senatorboxer @SenatorBoxer
Dianne Feinstein [D] California facebook.com/SenatorFeinstein @SenFeinstein
Michael Bennet [D] Colorado facebook.com/senatorbennet @SenBennetCO
Richard Blumenthal [D] Connecticut facebook.com/SenBlumenthal @SenBlumenthal
Chris Murphy [D] Connecticut facebook.com/ChrisMurphyCT @ChrisMurphyCT
Tom Carper [D] Delaware facebook.com/tomcarper @SenatorCarper
Bill Nelson [D] Florida facebook.com/billnelson @SenBillNelson
Mazie Hirono [D] Hawaii facebook.com/mazie.hirono @maziehirono
Brian Schatz [D] Hawaii facebook.com/BrianSchatz @brianschatz
Dick Durbin [D] Illinois facebook.com/SenatorDurbin @SenatorDurbin
Rand Paul [R] Kentucky facebook.com/SenatorRandPaul @RandPaul
Bill Cassidy [R] Louisiana facebook.com/billcassidy @BillCassidy
Angus King [I] Maine facebook.com/SenatorAngusSKingJr @SenAngusKing
Ben Cardin [D] Maryland facebook.com/senatorbencardin @SenatorCardin
Barbara Mikulski [D] Maryland facebook.com/SenatorMikulski @SenatorBarb
Elizabeth Warren [D] Massachusetts facebook.com/senatorelizabethwarren @SenWarren
Debbie Stabenow [D] Michigan facebook.com/stabenow @stabenow
Al Franken [D] Minnesota facebook.com/Sen.Franken @alfranken
Amy Klobuchar [D] Minnesota facebook.com/amyklobuchar @amyklobuchar
Claire McCaskill [D] Missouri facebook.com/senatormccaskill @clairecmc
Ben Sasse [R] Nebraska facebook.com/sassefornebraska @SenSasse
Harry Reid [D] Nevada facebook.com/SenatorReid @SenatorReid
Cory Booker [D] New Jersey facebook.com/corybooker @CoryBooker
Bob Menendez [D] New Jersey facebook.com/senatormenendez @SenatorMenendez
Martin Heinrich [D] New Mexico facebook.com/MartinHeinrich @MartinHeinrich
Tom Udall [D] New Mexico facebook.com/senatortomudall @SenatorTomUdall
Kirsten Gillibrand [D] New York facebook.com/KirstenGillibrand @SenGillibrand
Thom Tillis [R] North Carolina facebook.com/SenatorThomTillis @SenThomTillis
Heidi Heitkamp [D] North Dakota facebook.com/SenatorHeidiHeitkamp @SenatorHeitkamp
John Hoeven [R] North Dakota facebook.com/SenatorJohnHoeven @SenJohnHoeven
Sherrod Brown [D] Ohio facebook.com/sherrod @SenSherrodBrown
James Lankford [R] Oklahoma facebook.com/SenatorLankford @SenatorLankford
Bob Casey [D] Pennsylvania facebook.com/SenatorBobCasey @SenBobCasey
Jack Reed [D] Rhode Island facebook.com/SenJackReed @SenJackReed
Sheldon Whitehouse [D] Rhode Island facebook.com/SenatorWhitehouse @SenWhitehouse
Mike Rounds [R] South Dakota facebook.com/SenatorMikeRounds @SenatorRounds
Lamar Alexander [R] Tennessee facebook.com/lamaralexander @SenAlexander
Bob Corker [R] Tennessee facebook.com/bobcorker @SenBobCorker
John Cornyn [R] Texas facebook.com/Sen.JohnCornyn @JohnCornyn
Orrin Hatch [R] Utah facebook.com/OrrinHatch @OrrinHatch
Bernie Sanders [I] Vermont facebook.com/senatorsanders @SenSanders
Tim Kaine [D] Virginia facebook.com/SenatorKaine @timkaine
Mark Warner [D] Virginia facebook.com/MarkRWarner @MarkWarner
Maria Cantwell [D] Washington facebook.com/senatorcantwell @SenatorCantwell
Joe Manchin [D] West Virginia facebook.com/JoeManchinIII @Sen_JoeManchin
Tammy Baldwin [D] Wisconsin facebook.com/TammyBaldwin @SenatorBaldwin
Mike Enzi [R] Wyoming facebook.com/mikeenzi @SenatorEnzi

 

 

 

- See more at: http://www.mywireless.org/2015/08/51-u-s-senators-support-internet-tax-freedom/#sthash.mqpjYANe.dpuf


more Calendar

10/18/2016
WIPP Procurement Committee Meeting (4th Quarter)

10/20/2016
Access to Capital Committee Meeting

Featured Members
Angela HarpalaniNational Partner of the Month: September 2016. Read about Angela's business bit.ly/2caSIX5

Privacy Policy / Disclaimer    |    © WIPP  |    888-488-WIPP

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership.com®  ::  Legal