My Profile   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Corporate Partner News

51 U.S. Senators support Internet Tax Freedom (Do yours?)

Wednesday, August 19, 2015  
Share |


51 U.S. Senators support Internet Tax Freedom (Do yours?)

Rob Shrum




Earlier this summer, without a single dissenting vote, the U.S. House of Representatives passed the Permanent Internet Tax Freedom Act (H.R. 235) to permanently extend the ban on Internet access taxes that is set to expire on October 1st of this year. The focus is now on the Senate where the companion legislation, known as the ‘Internet Tax Freedom Forever Act’ (S.431), is being considered with less than two months to go before time runs out.

The ban on Internet access taxes was originally put in place in 1998 and incrementally extended by Congress over the years to foster and encourage the continued expansion of Internet, which is now a critical gateway to education, healthcare, jobs and entrepreneurial opportunities.

Internet access allows Americans from all walks of life to equally participate and compete in today’s global economy.  Unfortunately, if the Internet access tax ban expires, the high state and local taxes that are already applied to wireless service could be expanded to include Internet access, increasing the cost of service. This despite the fact that the FCC National Broadband Plan says that cost is the largest barrier to consumer broadband adoption.

Luckily, the ‘Internet Tax Freedom Forever Act’ has the broad support over half of the Senate, with Senate Commerce Committee Chairman John Thune (R-SD) sponsoring the bill, along with 50 other bipartisan cosponsors. However, more support is needed to ensure that the bill passes.

The Senators that are NOT currently supporting the Internet Tax Freedom Forever Act are listed below, along with their Facebook pages and Twitter handles. Take a minute to tell each of them on Facebook and Twitter to support the ‘Internet Tax Freedom Forever Act’ today, become a cosponsor, and pass this much needed legislation to ensure that the Internet remains accessible for all and unhindered by discriminatory taxes!

U.S. SenatorsNOTcurrently supporting the Internet Tax Freedom Forever Act (S. 431)
Senator State Facebook Twitter
Jeff Sessions [R] Alabama @SenatorSessions
Richard Shelby [R] Alabama @SenShelby
Barbara Boxer [D] California @SenatorBoxer
Dianne Feinstein [D] California @SenFeinstein
Michael Bennet [D] Colorado @SenBennetCO
Richard Blumenthal [D] Connecticut @SenBlumenthal
Chris Murphy [D] Connecticut @ChrisMurphyCT
Tom Carper [D] Delaware @SenatorCarper
Bill Nelson [D] Florida @SenBillNelson
Mazie Hirono [D] Hawaii @maziehirono
Brian Schatz [D] Hawaii @brianschatz
Dick Durbin [D] Illinois @SenatorDurbin
Rand Paul [R] Kentucky @RandPaul
Bill Cassidy [R] Louisiana @BillCassidy
Angus King [I] Maine @SenAngusKing
Ben Cardin [D] Maryland @SenatorCardin
Barbara Mikulski [D] Maryland @SenatorBarb
Elizabeth Warren [D] Massachusetts @SenWarren
Debbie Stabenow [D] Michigan @stabenow
Al Franken [D] Minnesota @alfranken
Amy Klobuchar [D] Minnesota @amyklobuchar
Claire McCaskill [D] Missouri @clairecmc
Ben Sasse [R] Nebraska @SenSasse
Harry Reid [D] Nevada @SenatorReid
Cory Booker [D] New Jersey @CoryBooker
Bob Menendez [D] New Jersey @SenatorMenendez
Martin Heinrich [D] New Mexico @MartinHeinrich
Tom Udall [D] New Mexico @SenatorTomUdall
Kirsten Gillibrand [D] New York @SenGillibrand
Thom Tillis [R] North Carolina @SenThomTillis
Heidi Heitkamp [D] North Dakota @SenatorHeitkamp
John Hoeven [R] North Dakota @SenJohnHoeven
Sherrod Brown [D] Ohio @SenSherrodBrown
James Lankford [R] Oklahoma @SenatorLankford
Bob Casey [D] Pennsylvania @SenBobCasey
Jack Reed [D] Rhode Island @SenJackReed
Sheldon Whitehouse [D] Rhode Island @SenWhitehouse
Mike Rounds [R] South Dakota @SenatorRounds
Lamar Alexander [R] Tennessee @SenAlexander
Bob Corker [R] Tennessee @SenBobCorker
John Cornyn [R] Texas @JohnCornyn
Orrin Hatch [R] Utah @OrrinHatch
Bernie Sanders [I] Vermont @SenSanders
Tim Kaine [D] Virginia @timkaine
Mark Warner [D] Virginia @MarkWarner
Maria Cantwell [D] Washington @SenatorCantwell
Joe Manchin [D] West Virginia @Sen_JoeManchin
Tammy Baldwin [D] Wisconsin @SenatorBaldwin
Mike Enzi [R] Wyoming @SenatorEnzi





- See more at:


more Calendar

Give Me 5: Life After 8a

ChallengeHER Arlington, VA

Give Me 5 Virtual Mentoring: Life After 8a

Give Me 5: Straight Answers About How FPDS-NG Support GovCon Business Development

Give Me 5 Virtual Mentoring: Straight Answers About How FPDS-NG Support GovCon Business Development

Featured Members
Pamela MazzaWIPP National Partner

Privacy Policy / Disclaimer    |    © WIPP  |    888-488-WIPP

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal